Philosophy of Yoga


Philosophy of Yoga

What is Yoga?

Yoga and meditation is an inquiry into the Self. The practice of linking breath to movement and settling into stillness unmasks layers of who you’ve learned to be (tension), so you may get to the truth of who you truly are (relaxation). It is in this relaxed state of embodiment that we can live our best lives, follow our intuition and flow with life. In a Western society that values the rational thinking mind and logic over all else, yoga will help you develop and be guided more by your feeling, heart-centered self. Through yoga you build a stronger and integrated mind and body that is perfectly able and authentic in its expression. 

After practicing on my own for many years, I realized there was only so much growth that can come from a solitary practice. In order for change to occur, it must be preceded by support, and so having spiritual guidance and being in community (sangha) with others can be a very powerful experience. This is the potential power of private group classes and individual instruction.  

Coming from a religious family background I always felt like something was missing. While religion is all about yoga, yoga is not religion. It has been my experience that while religion can oftentimes be dogmatic, divisive, judgmental and fear based, yoga is meant to be compassionate, liberating, and celebrating of diversity. In terms of their similarities, in both yoga and religion it is in the silent spaces where we can commune with the universe, ask for direction and trust that we will receive wisdom. It is here that healing happens. We become quieter, less reactive, more grateful, and overall happier. The anxieties and triggers we’ve developed from the past and the harsh environment around us become less and less. We raise our sensitivity and in turn our tolerance. In yoga there is no linear path; no goal. Philosophically, yoga is the process of returning to our natural state of being, a state that is available to anyone. 


A little history…

While I won’t attempt to launch into yoga’s rich and complex Eastern history, evolution and synthesis of many of its separate texts, and New Agean Western philosophies, I will say that the postures are only one of the aspects of the eight-limbed system for living life. As with any practice, there needs to be balance and discipline.

Eight-limbed Path of Yoga according to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, dated 200 A.D:

1)   Yamas (restraints; actions best avoided)

2)   Niyamas (positive actions to cultivate)

3)   Asana (physical postures to release tension from the body)

4)   Pranayama (harmonizing body, mind and breath)

5)   Pratyahara (withdrawing attention from external distractions)

6)   Dharana (concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness)

7)   Dhyana (devotion to a higher purpose/energy/God that can be achieved through meditation; a state of flow)

8)   Samadhi (effortless integrated being)

When looking at asana (postures), there are generally two types – therapeutic and meditative. Therapeutic postures work to strengthen and purify the physical body (Example: Warrior poses, Sun Salutations, balancing poses, etc). When practiced regularly, these postures help lubricate the joints, create flexibility in the hips and legs and strengthen the spine. In short they make it easier to sit for long periods of meditation. 

In a Western culture that spends so much time sitting in chairs, hunching over in cars, and typing behind computer screens, it is not surprising that therapeutic postures are emphasized so much in yoga studios all over the United States. On the other hand, meditative postures work to enhance focus and meditation by unlocking certain energy centers (bandhas) in the body. These poses are seated postures and include Padmasana, Vajrasana, Siddhasana, and Swatikasana, and can be some of the most challenging poses. At the same time, the fruits are abundant. Meditative postures take us on a journey to the ultimate realization of our soul’s purpose and liberate us from the cycle of suffering and illusion of separation.

The fastest way to still the mind is to move the body.
— Gabrielle Roth, American dancer and Founder of 5Rhythms

Basically you can’t have one set of postures over another. Meditative postures and therapeutic postures are Yin and Yang; they must be in balance -- particularly if one is living the life of a householder and not a sannyasin (spiritual ascetic). Of course for each householder that balance of how much time should be spent stretching and strengthening versus how much time one should spend in meditation will look different depending on the person’s constitution, lifestyle and activity level.  

And still, when we take a step back and look at the big picture, yoga is even more than what we know as Hatha Yoga -- combination of the postures, breathing and meditation. There are still many other aspects of the practice meant to harmonize, heal and awaken a person. 

All the other branches of Yoga include: 

Karma Yoga: the yoga of dynamic action and service to humanity

Jnana Yoga: the yoga of discriminative wisdom

Bhakti Yoga: the yoga of devotion

Raja Yoga: the yoga of concentration and meditation

Tantra Yoga: the yoga of integrating the polarities


Kripalu Yoga & Meditation

Kripalu Yoga & Meditation

What is Kripalu Yoga?

Like most yoga styles and traditions, Kripalu Yoga weaves together classic asanas (though not a particular set or routine), pranayama (breathwork), development of a quiet mind, and the practice of relaxation. What defines Kripalu Yoga is its emphasis on:

a)    Following the flow of prana (life-force energy)

b)   Practicing compassionate self-acceptance

c)   Developing witness consciousness (observing the mind without judgment)

d)   Taking what is learned about yourself “off the mat” and into daily life

One reason Kripalu Yoga has been embraced by so many people is that it is designed to adapt to all ages, stages of life, body types, and fitness levels. 


The Three Stages of Kripalu Yoga

Stage One: Focus on postural alignment and coordination of breath and movement, bringing the mind fully present to the body and to sensations through classical hatha yoga asanas. Postures are held for a short time, which lengthens and strengthens the body, releases chronic tension, and encourages relaxation.

Stage Two: The inner experience is cultivated by meditation while holding postures for longer periods. In addition to strengthening muscles, this longer holding time develops concentration and an ability to recognize and release deep-seated emotional and mental tensions. Over time, unconscious material comes to the surface, where it can be felt, seen, and let go of to restore emotional balance and mental clarity. The heart opens, creating an increased capacity for learning and growth.

Stage Three: Known as “meditation in motion,” both the body and the mind are deeply relaxed. With no thinking involved, the body is invited to move spontaneously, dancing from one posture to another in direct response to the inner urges and the body’s energy (prana).


A Typical Kripalu Yoga Class

Beginning Kripalu Yoga classes focus on stage one, while more advanced classes may include all three stages. Classes are often defined as gentle, moderate, or vigorous, referring to the intensity of practice. But because our needs vary from day to day and over time, students in Kripalu Yoga classes are encouraged to tune in to their bodies wisdom and needs and practice at an intensity that feels right in the present moment. Each class includes centering, pranayama, pratapana (warmups), postures, and a period of deep relaxation to revitalize the major systems of the body, as well as meditation.